Path of Exile Guide – Beginner, Upgrading, Rising Knowledge for PoE

Path of Exile is famous as the complexity king of the Hack & Slay genre. This guide is intended as a summary of all features of the game and as a springboard for finding the right detail information: Ideal for beginners, transitional, beginners and advanced.

to my Path of Exile Guide.

Path of Exile is famous as the complexity king of the Hack & Slay genre.

This guide is intended as a summary of all features of the game and as a springboard for finding the right detail information:
Ideal for beginners, changers, beginners and advanced.

Foreword to the language
Since practically all players use the English names for skills and items, I will use them as well and from time to time specify the German translation.

But do not worry, except for a bit of everyday English or even just the usual trade texts (WTB, WTS, the names of the skills, etc.) you do not need anything else. The abbreviations that occur only in PoE can be read anywhere on the Internet and otherwise they can easily be put into practice.


Hero of the world
In Path of Exile there are seven different classes. Since the last major update “Ascendancy” each of these classes can also specialize in one of 3 subclasses.

PoE Currency

The heroine ranges from the Marauder muscle man to the agile, agile hunter (Ranger) to the magic witch (Witch). These archetypes are supplemented by hybrids, namely Templar (strength and magic), Duelist (strength and agility) and the assassins “Shadow” (agility and magic).
The added “Scion” class is a peculiarity because it is at home in all 3 areas, offering a lot of flexibility.

However, the class plays far less of a role than in other genre representatives. All applicable skills, equipment, and talents (except those of the subclass) are available to each hero.
The difference between the classes are slightly different starting attributes, but this difference quickly loses importance. More importantly, each class starts at a different point on the passive tree.

The world of PoE is a merciless region called Wraeclast, into which the exiles of the civilized world are sent to die.
As an “Exilted“, it is your job to defy the danger and, of course, send tons of more or less guilty adversaries to the afterlife.

The game is divided into four acts. Every act, every zone offers its own flora, fauna, architecture. And of course lots of opponents, otherwise it would not be called Hack & Slay J

In every act, there is an end boss who clears the way forward. From the manic-depressive siren “Merveil” over a fat Vaal monstrosity to the megalomaniacal Templar Dominus and finally into the guts of the “Beasts” and to the fight against the last adversary, the brave heroes draw glory on the one hand and honor, on the other hand, the accumulated riches;)


Nothing for Simpel fans: the skills system
The biggest difference to the competition is also PoE’s biggest asset, at least for players who like it a bit more challenging: the skills.

Unusually, it starts with the basics, because skills come along in the form of so-called gems (gems). These can be used in sockets in armor parts or weapons and use the ability from now on.
The Gems can also be removed or exchanged, so you can change your skills at any time.

Just like the hero, equipped Skill Gems gain experience and rise in level. The corresponding ability will then naturally stronger.

Buy PoE Currency

The Gems come in 3 colors that match the 3 main attributes of each Hero: Strength (red), Agility (green), Intellect (blue).
By choosing what attributes you increase, you also determine which skills you can use. Because each additional level of Gems requires a higher value in the associated attribute.

Active Skill Gems

Blue gems (intelligence) are mostly spells and curses. Green gems (agility) allow the use of ranged attacks and traps. Red Gems (Strength) bestow powerful melee attacks and defensive skills.

At the same time in the Skill Bar you can only have 5 Skills. That’s one reason why there are a lot of different, successful “builds” in PoE. Each build is usually defined by 2-3 signature skills plus other useful skills.

Since there are more than 30 of the active skill gems per attribute alone (more than 100 active skills in total), there are no limits to the joy of experimenting.
The arsenal is limited on the one hand by the skill bar as discussed above, on the other hand by the number of sockets in the equipment.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *